top of page

3DMattePainting with Oowen

I met up with Oowen at a chinese new year gathering last January (year 3 photography student) and spoke about possible collaborations. I proposed the idea of moving image using his landscape photos and we decided to go for 3D Matte painting. The look that we aimed for was utopian-fantasy-esque and after reviewing his travel photos, I found that the shots from Scottland and Iceland was the best fit for this project.

It is still work in progress as I am still figuring ways to properly composed the elements in shot nicely. With the help of this tutorial from pluralsight {https://app.pluralsight.com/library/courses/animating-mountain-scene-matte-painting-photoshop-nuke-1453/table-of-contents), I'm able to work efficiently with the non-destructive pipeline.

These images will then be brought in Maya for camera projection on each plates to give better depths and parallax effect. Final comp will be done in Nuke.

*google image

This will definitely be more challenging than my flatpack work back in year 1. I will need to justify Oowen's photos with the composition. Pressure's on me. References;

bottom of page