top of page

Penrose Paradox Triangle

After producing the first version of the Temple, I continued modelling other illusion shape and I chose to model Penrose Triangle. Inspired by Paradox Illusions, I revisited one of my favourite artist, M.C. Escher.

He produced a mind boggling image of the famous Waterfall illusion. The Penrose Triangle was constructed with the same illusion and angle as the Waterfall. I wouldn't want to trouble myself much and wanted to sart easy, so I went with the triangle.

My brain was quite fried after spending hours figuring out ways to model the triangle. I can't to seem wrap my head around dissecting parts of to make it 3D, so I played with with camera angle instead. It was really hard for me to bring a 2D based illusion sketch into life. It make sense at certain angle but it defeats the purpose of me modelling it.

The image on the right was of my reference for the triangle. The longer I look at it, the more confusing I get. I need to figure a way of modelling it by inverting the faces at an angle which will still connect to and end point.

bottom of page