top of page

Neon Light with Eugene

I gotta admit this is by far the coolest tutorial I've had in Uni after camera projection. This definitely opened a lot doors to me. Just what I needed. We had Eugene again this evening teaching us on how to produce neon lights/signs in Maya. The image below was my first successful render after many crashes.

I took an easy road for this. Instead of manually tweaking the curve from the sharp edges of the letter, I used curved end typeface instead. It did not work well as I expected after the first word. Maya kept on crashing because each letters carried about 500 divisions each and on top of that, it take longer time to render using V-Ray lighting.

After the lesson, I went straight to my computer and continued cracking. I spent quite sometime on this mainly because I want to get it right by using less divisions on each letter so I could model more neon signs in a single project file. I intend to use this for one of my scenes.

bottom of page