top of page

Orb test shot - Nuke camera tracking

I went out for James Hill today and did a test shoot for our upcoming film collaboration. Both of the shot was taken handheld for tracking purposes. Nuke's built in tracking system was pretty impressive compared to After Effects. All it needs was a coupla nodes and patience. I know this was just a basic tracking but I managed it well.

My handheld shot was forgiving enough for the software to track. Although I made it sound simple, it still needs precise values for a good track. I learned from this tutorial on youtube,

I learned that it is important to eliminate non-green point. In that way, it makes it more convenient to track the 3D environment. It also has function of showing the points, which I find useful for breakdowns.

This was a good exercise so I'd know what to advice when we meet with the film students.

bottom of page